is a grassroots organization formed in 1992.



About Us

Soapstone's mission
is to bring people together to celebrate and support the work of women writers.

We are a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization. All donations are fully tax-deductible.

Administrator: Ruth Gundle

Board President: Patricia Bollin

Board Members: Judith Barrington, Patricia Bollin, Ann Dudley, Nancy LaPaglia, Maureen Michelson, Katy Riker, Elizabeth Woody, Kathleen Worley

Past Presidents: Ursula K. Le Guin, Judith Barrington, Ann Dudley, and Rebecca Shine

Former board members:

Judith Arcana, Leslie Bevan, Mary Clare, Eva Gold, Elissa Goldberg, Noel Hanlon, Shirley Kishiyama, Ursula K. Le Guin, Janice Gould, Mimi Maduro, Madeline Moore, Sharon Morgan, Joanne Mulcahy, Monza Naff, Gloria Olds, Phyllis Oster, Gerry Pearson, Sandy Polishuk, Holly Pruett, Lee Schore, Rebecca Shine, Evelyn C. White

This website was created by Anne Verhoeven based on Soapstone's original site, which was created by Marcia Barrentine (1953–2014). Soapstone is greatly indebted to them both.